• Chuckwalla Fitness

Anthony Suarez

#MemberCrushMonday: Anthony Suarez



Here is his story:


Hello Chuckwalla Fitness fam. My name is Anthony Suarez. My wife and I just joined Chuckwalla at the end of May and have loved getting to know different members. I usually hit up the 8 am class because I am a teacher and on a summer schedule right now. When school starts (if it starts), I might have to join the 5:30 or 6:30 am crew.


Some of the roles and responsibilities that I have the privilege to hold are husband, father, teacher, pastor, and student.


A little bit about me personally. I have been married to my amazing wife Jill Suarez for 13 years now. You will see, or most likely hear her laugh, around the gym with me at the 8 am class. We have three boys. Huntington is 11, Beckett is 8, and Maverick is 6. I am originally from Riverside, CA, but have lived here in the valley for 16 years so this is now home.


Outside of Chuckwalla, I am a full-time teacher at Cornerstone Charter High School. I get to teach Algebra and also some Personal Finance classes to some amazing students. This charter high school is a credit recovery school so it provides me with an opportunity to teach and build relationships with students who struggle with school and life. Most of our students live in the midst of hard circumstances and painful stories. So not only do I get to teach my students math, but I also have the privilege and opportunity to counsel them in life. I love my job.


I also have the opportunity and privilege to help pastor and shepherd a small church family at Missio Dei Phoenix with Chris Priebe (Chuckwalla member and also is the owner and founder of Cultivate Coffee). I love doing life with this small community. Our church is formed around Missional Communities who seek to live out the truth of the gospel to our neighbors, our city, and the world. I am thankful to help others know Jesus more deeply and then help them figure out how to live out the gospel amongst the communities they live and work in.


Along with teaching and pastoring, I am currently attending seminary full-time. I am about to start my second year of a four-year degree in Missional Theology from the Missional Training Center. I get to go through all four years with a small cohort of 16 other people from different places around the valley. I love learning and the process of exploring truth and perspective in all areas of life.


In my free time I like to do some woodworking. I have built and sold a few kitchen tables and benches. The next one I have to build is one for my own house as ours just broke! I also love to play sports. In the summer I golf a lot with my dad. I swim with my boys. I just got a smoker and have recently enjoyed smoking different meats. Maybe I will bring my smoker to the box one weekend and we can all enjoy some smoked meat! I am a foodie and love trying new and different food places. I also enjoy a good beer and good coffee.


Right from the beginning Jill and I felt welcomed and embraced into the Chuckwalla family. I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know people and look forward to continuing to meet other members.


Anthony





#ChuckwallaStrong

#EveryoneHasAPlace

#ChuckwallaCrossFitCommunity


  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • Yelp

 

© 2020 by Chuckwalla, LLC